Thursday, 17 April 2014

BOYSTOWN Promo Blitz By Jake Biondi

 

finalboystown
Title: Boystown
Author: Jake Biondi
Genre: M/F & M/M Romance
AaronBookCoverColor
add-to-goodreads-button31
The Story

BOYSTOWN is the continuing story of several couples living in Chicago's famed BOYSTOWN neighborhood (recently named the country's "most incomparable gay neighborhood" by readers of OUT Traveler Magazine and users of its website).
 
The Mancini brothers -- as well as their friends and significant others -- are at the core of BOYSTOWN. Emmett Mancini, the youngest of the brothers, is a bright, caring guy whose boyfriend Keith Colgan has a past Emmett knows little about...yet. Derek Mancini, and his wife Joyelle, are BOYSTOWN's straight couple...but a recent encounter with hunky Cole O'Brien could have life-altering consequences for Derek. And Justin Mancini, the oldest brother, arrives in BOYSTOWN in episode 9 and brings with him a family history that both Emmett and Derek were hoping to forget.
 
Before long, BOYSTOWN's newest residents Cole O'Brien and Jesse Morgan find themselves at the core of the drama and intrigue that makes up this adult playground.

The History
 
BOYSTOWN has a very interesting history. Late last Spring, I started to toss around in my head the idea of writing a continuing drama that focused on gay characters. I considered some ideas for characters and storylines. Then I finally began actually writing BOYSTOWN in June of 2013 as an online story and intended to release one "episode" online per month, each ending in a cliffhanger. The story became so popular -- and the online reading audience grew so quickly -- that people from all over the country began to email me demanding to know what happened to their favorite characters and wanting the episodes to be released faster. They also had suggestions for future storylines! I was surprised and excited by the readers' response to BOYSTOWN and began to write and release installments more quickly. By November, I had released 10 episodes and the reading audience had expanded well beyond the borders of America.
 
Because of BOYSTOWN's huge success online and the serialized nature of my writing, readers from all over the globe have been able to correspond with me and influence the storylines of the BOYSTOWN saga as I write it. It's really exciting to interact with fans in this way. I think it's something very unique to BOYSTOWN.
 
Readers also suggested that I publish the first 10 episodes as a book rather than leaving them online. I took their advice -- and “BOYSTOWN Season One” was published in late November. The book is selling very well locally and nationally. In the meantime, I have continued to write additional episodes. Episodes 11 - 20 will be released this Spring as “BOYSTOWN Season Two.” The books are available in local bookstores as well as on amazon.com, bn.com, and through my website www.JakeBiondi.com.
 
Fans of BOYSTOWN are the best; they are very dedicated. One fan from Massachusetts loves the book so much that she organized an "online book tour" with 20 bloggers from all over the country to promote BOYSTOWN -- all on her own. Another reader has created social media accounts to help with promotion. I'm really humbled by and grateful for the kindness and generosity of my readers.
 
As I have been working on Episodes 11 - 20, I have "leaked" them to some fans of the series to get their responses and input. I love this interactive creative process with my fans.
 
The Future
 
I think readers really like that BOYSTOWN is written like a TV series. It moves quickly and keeps people on the edges of their seats! And now the BOYSTOWN team is working to bring BOYSTOWN to television or the internet.
 
When my friend Aaron Savvy, who is a model, personal trainer, and actor living in Los Angeles, read the book, he called me right away and said, "We have to get this made into a TV series." What's interesting is that I created one of the characters with Aaron in mind, but I didn't tell him which character until after he read the book. Luckily, he identified the character right away and has been working ever since to promote the book and bring it to people in the entertainment industry who may be interested in bringing it to television or the internet. Aaron appears on the cover of the book.
 
Then actor Billy Santoro became interested in the project as well. Billy expressed an interest in playing one of the characters and has also been working hard to get the book into the hands of entertainment executives. In the process, we have become good friends, which has been great. He has been so proactive about giving the book to directors and producers he knows.
 
Another actor, Boston Miles, first learned about BOYSTOWN when he saw people talking about it on Twitter and Facebook. So he ordered a copy on his own and read it -- and then got in touch with me. He immediately recognized the huge potential of the project and offered to assist me in any way he could. So he is also promoting the book and interested in appearing in the television version.
 
Most recently, I was excited to welcome actor DeMarco Majors onto the BOYSTOWN team. DeMarco is a phenomenal guy who also realized the potential for BOYSTOWN and has already been in contact with producers, directors, managers, and other actors to make the dream of turning BOSTOWN into a series a reality. He has such a great sense of "vision" and really pushes me to consider things from a variety of points of view.
 
Things are moving very quickly and I am really excited. All of this has happened in less than 8 months…and the future of BOYSTOWN will surely be a bright one.

jakebiondi

Excerpt

Ben and Jacqueline

Later that evening, after her shopping spree, Jacqueline was sitting at the bar in the first floor lounge of her hotel. She was having a martini and talking occasionally to the bartender. Mostly, she was just taking in the scene and relaxing after her hectic day.

“This one is good,” she told the bartender about her martini.

“Like it better than the first one?” he asked. “I thought you might.”

“Yes, but they are strong,” she smiled.

“Well, you get your money’s worth from me,” he joked.  The bartender stepped away for a moment and Jacqueline pulled Max’s business card out of her pocket. She stared at it for a while and finally took out her phone. She dialed Max’s cell number, but hesitated before pressing the “call” button. The bartender walked back over.

“Not sure if you should call the guy, huh?”

Jacqueline smiled. “How did you know?”

“Happens often at the bar this time of night,” the bartender smiled. “My advice?

If you’re not completely sure, don’t do it.”

Jacqueline smiled and then put her phone and Max’s business card into her purse.

  “You’re probably right. Thanks.”

“That’s what bartenders are for.” He smiled and stepped away to greet a man who was sitting down at the bar, several seats away from Jacqueline. It was Ben Donovan, dressed handsomely in a suit and tie. He took his seat and ordered a Cosmopolitan from the bartender. As the bartender prepared the cocktail, Ben made eye contact with Jacqueline. She smiled, then looked away.

“Thanks,” Ben told the bartender, handing him a credit card. “I’ll start a tab.” The bartender took the card and walked back to his cash register. Then he went back over to Jacqueline.

“So you’re in town for a few days?” the bartender asked.

“Yes,” Jacqueline replied. “Long weekend with my son. He’s out with a friend tonight. I figured I’d call it an early night. Especially after these martinis you’ve made me.”

Ben got up and walked over to Jacqueline. “Not too early, I hope.” Jacqueline smiled. “Mind if I sit down?”

“Go right ahead,” Jacqueline said. She was intrigued by the sexy stranger. “I’m Shawn,” Ben lied, as he extended his hand to Jacqueline.

“Hello, Shawn. I’m Jacqueline. It’s nice to meet you.” Jacqueline turned on her stool to face Ben, who sat down and faced her.

“Pleasure’s mine,” Ben said. “Are you visiting from out of town? I overheard you talking to the bartender.”

“Yes,” Jacqueline smiled. “I’m in town for the weekend. With my son.”

“Excellent. Great time of year to visit Chicago.” Jacqueline finished her drink and Ben signaled to the bartender. “Let me get another for my friend here.”

“Oh no, I shouldn’t,” Jacqueline said.

“Aw come on. Have a drink with me. I’m enjoying talking to you,” Ben smiled as he indicated to the bartender to bring Jacqueline another drink.

“Well, okay. But just one more,” Jacqueline said.

“Whatever you say,” Ben smiled. The bartender put Jacqueline’s fresh drink on the bar in front of her. Then Ben and she lifted their glasses and touched them together.

1495954_1418708141713185_402130430_o

Author Bio

Growing up in the suburbs of Chicago, Jake Biondi fell in love with "The Windy City" at an early age. He left the Chicago area for four years to attend the University of Notre Dame, from which he graduated with degrees in English and Business. He was awarded the university’s prestigious William Mitchell Award for Playwriting. Upon graduating from Notre Dame, Biondi returned to Chicago where he attended and graduated from the Loyola University Chicago School of Law. He has been living in Chicago's Boystown neighborhood for over 20 years.
 
While studying literature, Biondi became a huge fan of Charles Dickens whose novels were originally released in installments, each ending in a cliffhanger to keep readers coming back for more. Because of his love of those novels as well as television dramas such as Dynasty, Knots Landing, Dallas, and Revenge, Jake Biondi decided to create a serialized saga for contemporary audiences. Thus, BOYSTOWN was born.
 
Biondi began BOYSTOWN in June of 2013 as an online story and intended to release one "episode" online per month, each ending in a cliffhanger. The story became so popular -- and the online reading audience grew so quickly -- that people from all over the country began to email him demanding to know what happened to their favorite characters and wanting the episodes to be released faster. They also had suggestions for future storylines! Biondi was surprised and excited by the readers' response to BOYSTOWN and began to write and release installments more quickly. By November, Biondi had released 10 episodes and his reading audience had expanded well beyond the borders of America.
 
Because of BOYSTOWN's huge success online and the serialized nature of Biondi's writing, readers from all over the globe have been able to correspond with Biondi and influence the storylines of the BOYSTOWN saga as Biondi writes it.
 
Readers also suggested that Biondi publish the first 10 episodes as a book rather than leaving them online. He took their advice -- and “BOYSTOWN Season One” was published in late November. The book is selling very well locally and nationally. In the meantime, Biondi has continued to write additional episodes. Episodes 11 - 20 will be released this Spring as “BOYSTOWN Season Two.”
 
Because of the popularity of the book, people have suggested that BOYSTOWN be turned into a television series. Biondi has begun to reach out to television networks and producers -- and their response has been very positive. Working with actors and other professionals in the entertainment industry, Biondi hopes to bring BOYSTOWN to television in the near future.

Social Links


season2

Giveaway

One $10 Amazon Gift Card and 2 ebook copies of Boystown
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway




bpbuttonfortours

Friday, 12 July 2013

Blog Tour - Attachment Strings by Chris T. Kat




Attachment Strings         
By Chris T. Kat
M/M - Contemporary - Mystery
Date Published: 6/17/2013


Detective Jeff Woods and his partner have a new case. Someone has been making threatening phone calls to the mayor’s daughter, vowing to kill her disabled child. 

Though there have been accidents at the girl’s school—enough to take the threats seriously—the facts are few, and leads are sparse.
Needing a breather from the burden of the case, Jeff heads to a bar, where he meets Alex Fisher. Alex isn’t his type, but he’s young and cocky and perfect for a one-night stand. Or two. Soon Jeff starts thinking about how difficult and lonely it is being a cop, and that maybe Alex could fill a void in his life. But Alex has his own obligations: a disabled brother who is the target of threatening letters.

Jeff isn’t sure he’s ready to play house or overcome his prejudices, but he begins to think Alex might be worth it. Caught between his growing affection and his inner demons, Jeff struggles to focus on the case and protect Alex and his brother as the danger builds.

REVIEW


Attachment Strings by Chris T. Kat 
My Rating 3 of 5 stars.

This is the first book I've read written my Chris T. Kat and will say I did enjoy her writing style and look forward to reading more in this series.

We first meet Jeff who is a police detective in Atlantic City, Jess and his partner Parker are called out to investigate a murder. The murder victim is a disabled man.

After a hard day’s work Jeff decides to go out and have a drink in a local bar and find a man to have a quick romp. Jeff doesn't do relationship and just wants to get his needs met. In walks Alex who decides he wants to spend his evening with Jeff. Jeff hesitates as Alex is not really his type but decides to go with it. The chemistry between these two is great and the banter is quite funny.

The next day Jeff and Parker are called into their chief’s office and are asked to investigate the Major's daughters receiving some threats against her disable child.

As the investigation begins Jeff and Parker work together to figure out what is going on and if the threats hold any merit.

Meanwhile Jeff can't stop thinking about Alex and hopes to meet up with him again.

The mystery, the romance is good, the topic however is kind of hard to read considering some of Jeff's internal thoughts. But I enjoyed the story and really want to read the next book to see how things are going for Jeff, Alex and Sean. I also want to hear more about Parker.

Attachment Strings held my interested and I couldn't stop reading till I knew what was going on. The male/male romance is one of my favorite genres and I enjoyed this story, even though some of the Jeff's thoughts pissed me off.

Overall if you like mystery, romance and some hot male on male encounters then you should pick up a copy of Attachment Strings (Jeff Woods Mystery, #1). I would gladly recommend this story to my friends.


EXCERPT

I parked near Snake Alley, though not near enough to rouse suspicion if anyone saw my car. I was there early, especially for a Friday night. I hadn’t been to this particular club in a while. The Lion’s Den—whoever had named the club was nuts. But that’s just my humble opinion. 
Maybe the name was supposed to be a very clever wordplay. Or just a nice paraphrase for 'meat market'. Because that’s what it was. Strangely enough, a lot of the men didn’t get that it was a meat market; they believed in finding their true love here. Damn fools.
I found a good place at the bar and ordered a beer. It wasn’t crowded and from my spot I could overlook the dance floor, most of the bar, and the entrance. Once a cop, always a cop.

For a while, I sipped my beer and let my gaze wander. Around ten the club was filling and I had narrowed down my options to three guys. All of them were tall, broad-shouldered men, able to take it a bit rough.


I fended off a few other guys, though it was a nice ego-boost to be popular. None of the guys who advanced on me were my type: too small, too young, and way too cheerful. I had just finished my beer and decided to try my luck with my main prey, a dark-haired, beefy looking man, when a hand landed on my arm.</ span>

“Mind if I buy you another beer?”

I turned around with a frown in place. I was face to face—well, almost face to face, the guy was maybe two or three inches shorter than me—with a very young man. He smiled at me, showing off a line of white teeth, and I blinked. When I was done blinking, I pointedly looked at his hand on my arm, but he didn’t get the hint.

His hand stayed where it was as he ordered two beers. I found myself steered back onto the stool I had just vacated. He sat down on the stool next to me and finally withdrew his hand. Only to hold it out to me. 

“Hi, I’m Alex. Pleasure to meet you.”


I ignored his outstretched hand. “Thanks for the beer but I’m not interested.”

“You’re not?”

“No.” I wasn’t interested at all. This guy was way too young and absolutely not my type. Fair-haired and slender in built, almost delicate. I grimaced. He would find someone who’d appreciate his looks; there were a lot of men who’d be pleased with someone like him. It just wasn’t going to be me.

“No? Really? You don’t even know me.”

“I’m not here to get to know anyone.”

“Well, neither am I.”

I snorted. “Why did you sound so offended then?”

Alex answered with a shrug. “I’m not used to getting turned down, that’s all.”

Arrogant little prick. I patted his shoulder in a there-there gesture. “You’ll get used to it.”

“No, I won’t. I observed you for an hour and I want you. There’s no one with you, so I don’t get what the problem is.”

My eyes narrowed again. He had observed me for an hour and I hadn’t sensed it? Either I was drunk, which was very unlikely, or I needed to pay better attention to my surroundings. I took great offense at having been spied on without my knowledge. “Kid, do yourself a favor and pick up someone else. I’m not interested, but I can point out at least two men who are.”

“I can point out at least four men who are interested in me, but I don’t care about them. I already made my decision.”

The kid was incredibly arrogant. It should have been annoying but instead I was amused. He had balls and I liked that. “You did? Tell you what, I made a decision myself and it didn’t include you.”

“That’s only because you didn’t see me before.”

I laughed. “I haven’t met someone that snotty in quite a while.”

He grinned at me. “At least it got your attention.”

The bartender placed our beers in front of us and we both reached for them. We clinked the glasses together before we both turned around to stare at the dance floor. From the corner of my eyes I inspected Alex more closely. The blondness of his hair bordered on white. He had it slicked back, though it was already starting to curl up on the nape of his neck. A loose strand repeatedly fell onto his forehead.

Unsuccessfully, he tried to tame it.

He caught me glancing at him when he tried to tuck the stray hair behind his ear. A light flush crept up in his cheeks while he muttered, “It never stays where I put it.”

“That’s why you put a pound of gel into it?”

The light flush turned into a deep red. “It wasn’t a pound, only half of a bottle.”

I grinned at him and stretched out my hand. He took it immediately. “Hi Alex, I’m Jeff.”

“Jeff,” he repeated.

His gaze wandered to our joined hands. His hand almost vanished in mine. There were no calluses on his and the skin was baby-soft. Usually, I would have turned and run away. Oddly enough, I found myself stroking my thumb over the knuckles of his hand.

After swallowing heavily several times, Alex looked at me. “You got big hands.”

“Yep.”

“I bet you know how to use them.”

“I do.”

“You need to show me. Really soon.”

I smirked. Even though he wasn’t my type, he was good for my ego. It had been a long time since anyone had looked at me with such open hunger. I said, “I might do that.”

“You might? Didn’t you listen when I told you that you’re it for me tonight?”


“Don’t push your luck. At the very least I’m reconsidering.”
“You like that I’m pushy.”

“No, I don’t. It’s amusing, though.”

“Oh.” He sounded vaguely embarrassed. Maybe now he’d shut up for a while.

He did, but never let go of my hand. Instead, he came to stand at my other side and looped his free arm loosely around my waist. I raised an eyebrow questioningly.

“So far you’re only reconsidering. I’m making the best of it.”


Author Bio:

Chris T. Kat lives in the middle of Europe, where she shares a house with her husband of many years and their two children. She stumbled upon the M/M genre by luck and was swiftly drawn into it. She divides her time between work, her family—which includes chasing after escaping horses and lugging around huge instruments such as a harp—and writing. She enjoys a variety of genres, such as mystery/suspense, paranormal, and romance. If there's any spare time, she happily reads for hours, listens to audiobooks, or crafts.

Authors Links

Buy Links

Monday, 17 June 2013

Release Day Blitz - Attachment Strings by Chris T. Kat




Attachment Strings - Release Day PROMO
By Chris T. Kat
M/M - Contemporary - Mystery
Date Published: 6/17/2013


Detective Jeff Woods and his partner have a new case. Someone has been making threatening phone calls to the mayor’s daughter, vowing to kill her disabled child. 

Though there have been accidents at the girl’s school—enough to take the threats seriously—the facts are few, and leads are sparse.
Needing a breather from the burden of the case, Jeff heads to a bar, where he meets Alex Fisher. Alex isn’t his type, but he’s young and cocky and perfect for a one-night stand. Or two. Soon Jeff starts thinking about how difficult and lonely it is being a cop, and that maybe Alex could fill a void in his life. But Alex has his own obligations: a disabled brother who is the target of threatening letters.

Jeff isn’t sure he’s ready to play house or overcome his prejudices, but he begins to think Alex might be worth it. Caught between his growing affection and his inner demons, Jeff struggles to focus on the case and protect Alex and his brother as the danger builds.


EXCERPT

I parked near Snake Alley, though not near enough to rouse suspicion if anyone saw my car. I was there early, especially for a Friday night. I hadn’t been to this particular club in a while. The Lion’s Den—whoever had named the club was nuts. But that’s just my humble opinion. 
Maybe the name was supposed to be a very clever wordplay. Or just a nice paraphrase for 'meat market'. Because that’s what it was. Strangely enough, a lot of the men didn’t get that it was a meat market; they believed in finding their true love here. Damn fools.
I found a good place at the bar and ordered a beer. It wasn’t crowded and from my spot I could overlook the dance floor, most of the bar, and the entrance. Once a cop, always a cop.

For a while, I sipped my beer and let my gaze wander. Around ten the club was filling and I had narrowed down my options to three guys. All of them were tall, broad-shouldered men, able to take it a bit rough.


I fended off a few other guys, though it was a nice ego-boost to be popular. None of the guys who advanced on me were my type: too small, too young, and way too cheerful. I had just finished my beer and decided to try my luck with my main prey, a dark-haired, beefy looking man, when a hand landed on my arm.</ span>

“Mind if I buy you another beer?”

I turned around with a frown in place. I was face to face—well, almost face to face, the guy was maybe two or three inches shorter than me—with a very young man. He smiled at me, showing off a line of white teeth, and I blinked. When I was done blinking, I pointedly looked at his hand on my arm, but he didn’t get the hint.

His hand stayed where it was as he ordered two beers. I found myself steered back onto the stool I had just vacated. He sat down on the stool next to me and finally withdrew his hand. Only to hold it out to me. 

“Hi, I’m Alex. Pleasure to meet you.”

I ignored his outstretched hand. “Thanks for the beer but I’m not interested.”

“You’re not?”

“No.” I wasn’t interested at all. This guy was way too young and absolutely not my type. Fair-haired and slender in built, almost delicate. I grimaced. He would find someone who’d appreciate his looks; there were a lot of men who’d be pleased with someone like him. It just wasn’t going to be me.

“No? Really? You don’t even know me.”

“I’m not here to get to know anyone.”

“Well, neither am I.”

I snorted. “Why did you sound so offended then?”

Alex answered with a shrug. “I’m not used to getting turned down, that’s all.”

Arrogant little prick. I patted his shoulder in a there-there gesture. “You’ll get used to it.”

“No, I won’t. I observed you for an hour and I want you. There’s no one with you, so I don’t get what the problem is.”

My eyes narrowed again. He had observed me for an hour and I hadn’t sensed it? Either I was drunk, which was very unlikely, or I needed to pay better attention to my surroundings. I took great offense at having been spied on without my knowledge. “Kid, do yourself a favor and pick up someone else. I’m not interested, but I can point out at least two men who are.”

“I can point out at least four men who are interested in me, but I don’t care about them. I already made my decision.”

The kid was incredibly arrogant. It should have been annoying but instead I was amused. He had balls and I liked that. “You did? Tell you what, I made a decision myself and it didn’t include you.”

“That’s only because you didn’t see me before.”

I laughed. “I haven’t met someone that snotty in quite a while.”

He grinned at me. “At least it got your attention.”

The bartender placed our beers in front of us and we both reached for them. We clinked the glasses together before we both turned around to stare at the dance floor. From the corner of my eyes I inspected Alex more closely. The blondness of his hair bordered on white. He had it slicked back, though it was already starting to curl up on the nape of his neck. A loose strand repeatedly fell onto his forehead.

Unsuccessfully, he tried to tame it.

He caught me glancing at him when he tried to tuck the stray hair behind his ear. A light flush crept up in his cheeks while he muttered, “It never stays where I put it.”

“That’s why you put a pound of gel into it?”

The light flush turned into a deep red. “It wasn’t a pound, only half of a bottle.”

I grinned at him and stretched out my hand. He took it immediately. “Hi Alex, I’m Jeff.”

“Jeff,” he repeated.

His gaze wandered to our joined hands. His hand almost vanished in mine. There were no calluses on his and the skin was baby-soft. Usually, I would have turned and run away. Oddly enough, I found myself stroking my thumb over the knuckles of his hand.

After swallowing heavily several times, Alex looked at me. “You got big hands.”

“Yep.”

“I bet you know how to use them.”

“I do.”

“You need to show me. Really soon.”

I smirked. Even though he wasn’t my type, he was good for my ego. It had been a long time since anyone had looked at me with such open hunger. I said, “I might do that.”

“You might? Didn’t you listen when I told you that you’re it for me tonight?”

“Don’t push your luck. At the very least I’m reconsidering.”
“You like that I’m pushy.”

“No, I don’t. It’s amusing, though.”

“Oh.” He sounded vaguely embarrassed. Maybe now he’d shut up for a while.

He did, but never let go of my hand. Instead, he came to stand at my other side and looped his free arm loosely around my waist. I raised an eyebrow questioningly.

“So far you’re only reconsidering. I’m making the best of it.”


Author Bio:

Chris T. Kat lives in the middle of Europe, where she shares a house with her husband of many years and their two children. She stumbled upon the M/M genre by luck and was swiftly drawn into it. She divides her time between work, her family—which includes chasing after escaping horses and lugging around huge instruments such as a harp—and writing. She enjoys a variety of genres, such as mystery/suspense, paranormal, and romance. If there's any spare time, she happily reads for hours, listens to audiobooks, or crafts.

Authors Links

Buy Links

Tuesday, 4 June 2013

Alliance (Alliance #1) by Danyele Johnson & Shannon Dermott

Alliance (Alliance #1) by Danyele Johnson & Shannon Dermott
 
This is a young adult paranormal romance novel (Rated R)
 
♥♥♥♥♥
(Five Delicious Hearts)
 
Book Summary
 
Warning - This book is intended for mature audience. Excessive language and sexual situations may not be suitable for younger teens. This story also includes m/m romance.

Keller Witmore is a bang ‘em and leave ‘em kind of guy. Seeing that he is an incubus, so you can hardly blame him. In all his seventeen years, he’s never had anyone, a mom nor a dad to show him what love means. No one except for Hudson, his best friend, his brother in every sense of the word except blood. Growing up in the boarding school for demon and angel Halves, he’s known no other life. But when a war brews and the campus is closed, he will find out a lot of things about himself, what he is, who he is and who he wants to become. When it’s all said and done, can he ever go back to the way things were?

Hudson Yarde’s life revolves around being Keller’s wingman, it’s a full time job with both it’s perks and drawbacks. Drawn into the Keller’s antics since a young age, Hudson stays to protect Keller from himself, stays to hide in his shadows, away from the spotlight. He stays to keep his secret. For years he’s been waiting for his incubus nature to kick in but it hasn't happened yet. A chance meeting, the impending of war and being freed from the judgment and rules, gives him the opportunity to be what he wants to be, himself.

Together they leave for the human domain. Neither of them aware of the others secrets or of those around them. And for the first time, a gap could wedge between them, carved by the sharp knife of distrust. Lies of omission will draw a line between them at the dawn of the war over humanity.
 
 
My Review - Terri @mybookboyfriend
 
This is one of my favorite authors. If you haven’t read any of her books, you are missing out.  What we have here is a story of secrets. And man there are some whoppers. Things happen in this book that I hadn’t expected at all.
It’s hard not to like the two main characters in this book. They both have their strengths and weaknesses.  And when they are forced into the human world, all hell breaks loose, literally, lol.
What’s surprising is how they handle it? I think that’s where the twist I never saw coming happen. Specifically the party. Mmmm.
This author always has delicious guys in her stories. Don’t believe me, check out other reviews who say the same thing. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.
My book boyfriend Keller. (I got this from the author's blog. love it)

View all my reviews

*Disclaimer - I am not the owner of this picture. I found it on the web for causal fun use on my blog for which I receive no compensation. If this picture belongs to you (you are the copyright owner) please let me know and I will remove it.

Friday, 17 May 2013

International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia - Blog Hop & Giveaway


Welcome!

Homophobic discrimination is a serious issue in every single country on this planet, no matter how big or small. Some countries are more advanced in GLBTQ rights, while in some countries the penalty for being a GLBTQ person is death. All over the world, GLBTQ people are shunned by society, beat up, tortured, raped, and stripped of human rights in various ways. What makes people believe that they have the right to strip someone of their human rights is beyond us.

The Hop Against Homophobia is an attempt by over 170  m/m authors, reviewers and publishers to stand together and create awareness of homophobia. Each participating blog will feature a message on homophobic discrimination in its various forms. The date, May 17th, was chosen in honor of the International Day Against Homophobia and we're hoping to get people more involved with this day by inviting them to our blogs, where the visitors have a chance to win prizes.  



International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia

Fact and Figures

78 countries criminalise same-sex relationships

In 9 countries, sanctions can go as high as the death sentence

Source www.ilga.org

The total number of people who live in these countries is 1,5 billion

An estimated 6 million LGBT students worldwide are dropping out of school because of harassment by peers and by staff.

Source : Gay and Lesbian Alliance for Education. www.gale.org



In the UK, 90% of secondary schoolteachers said that pupils in their schools are bullied, harassed or

called names for being, or for being perceived to be, homosexual.

Source : Stonewall UK, “Homophobic Bullying in Britain’s Schools – The Teachers’ Report”,  2009.

According to a 2011 survey by the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network, 8 out of 10 US students who identify as LGBT were harassed at school in the past year due to their sexual orientation, 64 percent felt unsafe at school, and 30 percent skipped an entire day of school in the past month because of safety concerns.

In the USA, youth who identify as lesbian, gay, or bisexual are four times more likely to attempt suicide, and youth who are questioning their sexual orientation are three times more likely to attempt suicide, as compared to their heterosexual counterparts.

41 percent of Americans who identify as transgender have attempted suicide.

According to a recent study across 15 countries, transgender women were nearly 50 times more likely to have HIV, and there were 1,123 reported killings of transgender people in 57 countries between 2008 and 2012

Now here is your chance to win one of they 3 great books I am giving away on my blog to promote International Day Against Homophobia





To Win a copy of one of these 3 great books enter the rafflecopter giveaway.   
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Over 170 blogs participating in the International Day Against Homophobia Blog Hop

Stop by and check them out!


Friday, 5 April 2013

Dark Edge of Honor by Aleksandr Voinov and Rhi Etzweiler

Dark Edge of Honor by Aleksandr Voinov and Rhi Etzweiler
 
This is a m/m sci fiction romance novel (Rated NC-17)
 
 ♥♥♥♥1/2
(Four and a half Shooting Hearts)
 
Book Summary
 
Sergei Stolkov is a faithful officer, though his deepest desires go against the Doctrine. A captain with the invading Coalition forces, he believes that self-sacrifice is the most heroic act and his own needs are only valid if they serve the state.

Mike, an operative planted within Cirokko's rebels, has been ordered to seduce Sergei and pry from him the Coalition's military secrets. His mission is a success, but as he captures Sergei's heart, Mike is tempted by his own charade and falls in love.

When the hostile natives of the planet Cirokko make their move, all seems lost. Can Mike and Sergei survive when the Coalition's internal affairs division takes an interest in what happened in the dusty mountains of Zasidka Pass...?

 
My Review ~ Terri @mybookboyfriend
What a book. It was well written from the start. I can really appreciate that.
This book has many elements that I love. First romance. Well, at to that m/m romance and it’s like the cherry on the top. Then, there are military elements. I’m a big fan of police procedure books. So this was down my alley. Then the icing on the cake was the sci fi element. I was in book heaven.
For me this book drew many parallels between here and now with the military and religious belief against gay relationships and transformed it off planet to this science fiction place. It made it easier I think to state the problems of today without stepping on anyone’s toes.
There are a lot of taboo types of subjects handled in this one and very well I might say. From rape, discrimination, treatment of captured soldiers and wounded military. There is just so much self reflection in the book through the characters eyes. They have to deal with so much in this book.
I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Audio Review
Jack LeFleu did an excellent job with narration. It preformed all the accents with perfection. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this one.
My book boyfriend is Sergei. But honestly, I loved them both.

 
View all my reviews

*Disclaimer - I am not the owner of this picture. I found it on the web for causal fun use on my blog for which I receive no compensation. If this picture belongs to you (you are the copyright owner) please let me know and I will remove it.

Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) by J.R. Ward

Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) by J.R. Ward
 
This is an adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy novel (Rated NC-17)
 
♥♥♥♥
(Four Huge Hearts)
 
Book Summary
 
Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another....

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young—just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions... but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together... finally become one.
 
 
My Review ~ Terri @mybookboyfriend

 
Please note, I listened to this one. So if I botched the spellings, that’s why.
I waited on this series. And for the most part I was pleased. I have to say it was an interesting story. My problem largely lay in the misunderstanding as basis for conflict which seems to be a running theme. I barely could get through Rhages book because of it. Anyway, at least they didn’t wait to the end to say what the meant. Although neither were listening. L
And I really hate when a book gives you a HEA in the last pages and we get nothing of the couples happy togetherness.
There was a lot of set up for future books. And I have to say it annoyed me in the beginning. I just wasn’t interested in anyone other than Qhuinn  and Blay. Well, maybe Layla story. But by the end, I’m eager to see how these stories will play out.
SPOILERS.
I will say that I believe that....
Tres story will be much like Phurry.
Xcor story will be much like Zhadist.
The drug dealer guy (sorry, I listened. I don’t have all their names) his story will be much like Revenge. And I say to myself, will she think of something else??
END OF SPOILERS
So, I give it four stars. It should probably be 3.5, but I give her credit for trying to give us what we wanted.
Audio Review
Jim Frangione did an good job. He kept with the characters voices for the most part. However, there were times I had trouble differentiating between Qhuinn and Blay, the two main characters. That can be a problem. But overall, I enjoyed. 
My book boyfriend Qhuinn.

 
View all my reviews

*Disclaimer - I am not the owner of this picture. I found it on the web for causal fun use on my blog for which I receive no compensation. If this picture belongs to you (you are the copyright owner) please let me know and I will remove it.